movement
Differences
This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
Both sides previous revisionPrevious revisionNext revision | Previous revision | ||
movement [2025/09/19 08:39] – [TWO METHODS OF FLYING] fantasyadmin | movement [2025/09/25 21:35] (current) – [CRASHING] fantasyadmin | ||
---|---|---|---|
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
====== 6. MOVEMENT ====== | ====== 6. MOVEMENT ====== | ||
- | All movement in FANTASY WARLORD is measured | + | All movement in **FANTASY WARLORD** is measured |
from the base edge of a figure. Thus if a unit has | from the base edge of a figure. Thus if a unit has | ||
orders to Advance you measure from the front edge | orders to Advance you measure from the front edge | ||
Line 8: | Line 8: | ||
distances are measured in centimetres and all | distances are measured in centimetres and all | ||
movement allowances and penalties are listed on the | movement allowances and penalties are listed on the | ||
- | Profile Sheets. | + | [[profile-sheets|Profile Sheets]]. |
Players are allowed to measure distances on the | Players are allowed to measure distances on the | ||
war games table at any time. | war games table at any time. | ||
- | In FANTASY WARLORD units can move in a variety of | + | In **FANTASY WARLORD** units can move in a variety of |
ways. The options each race has and the distances | ways. The options each race has and the distances | ||
they can cover while following that type of | they can cover while following that type of | ||
Line 43: | Line 43: | ||
march into contact with the enemy (though they | march into contact with the enemy (though they | ||
may be brought to combat by an enemy charge). A | may be brought to combat by an enemy charge). A | ||
- | unit moving at normal speed will halt 5 cms from | + | unit moving at normal speed will halt 5 cm from |
any enemy unit, monster or character blocking its | any enemy unit, monster or character blocking its | ||
line of movement, unless it is on the inside of a | line of movement, unless it is on the inside of a | ||
Line 53: | Line 53: | ||
==== DOUBLE ==== | ==== DOUBLE ==== | ||
- | A unit must be in column and at least 50 cms from | + | A unit must be in column and at least 50 cm from |
the nearest visible enemy unit, to be given the order | the nearest visible enemy unit, to be given the order | ||
to move 'at the double' | to move 'at the double' | ||
Line 63: | Line 63: | ||
not march into contact with the enemy (though they | not march into contact with the enemy (though they | ||
may be brought to combat by an enemy charge). A | may be brought to combat by an enemy charge). A | ||
- | unit moving at double speed will halt 5 cms from any | + | unit moving at double speed will halt 5 cm from any |
enemy unit, monster or character blocking its line of | enemy unit, monster or character blocking its line of | ||
movement, unless it is on the inside of a fortification | movement, unless it is on the inside of a fortification | ||
Line 122: | Line 122: | ||
Routed or Evaded out of range, ends its turn | Routed or Evaded out of range, ends its turn | ||
Disordered and must be marked with a disordered | Disordered and must be marked with a disordered | ||
- | counter. (See Disordered Units on page 60). | + | counter. ([[army-organisation# |
A unit that fails its Morale Test in phase four, will | A unit that fails its Morale Test in phase four, will | ||
not charge but instead will follow the result of the | not charge but instead will follow the result of the | ||
Line 131: | Line 131: | ||
Counter-Charge movement can only occur as a | Counter-Charge movement can only occur as a | ||
reaction to an enemy charge. It may be caused by the | reaction to an enemy charge. It may be caused by the | ||
- | morale result UA (Uncontrolled Advance), or by a | + | morale result |
target unit passing its Morale Test and then passing a | target unit passing its Morale Test and then passing a | ||
Reaction Test and deciding to Counter-Charge the | Reaction Test and deciding to Counter-Charge the | ||
Line 157: | Line 157: | ||
or friendly units. When the full evade movement is | or friendly units. When the full evade movement is | ||
completed, the unit, but never a character, must be | completed, the unit, but never a character, must be | ||
- | marked with a disordered counter. (See Disordered | + | marked with a disordered counter. ([[army-organisation# |
- | Units on page 60). | + | |
Troops moving at evade speed may not move into | Troops moving at evade speed may not move into | ||
contact with the enemy (though they may be | contact with the enemy (though they may be | ||
brought to combat by an enemy charge). A unit | brought to combat by an enemy charge). A unit | ||
- | moving at evade speed will halt 5 cms away from any | + | moving at evade speed will halt 5 cm away from any |
enemy unit, monster or character blocking its line of | enemy unit, monster or character blocking its line of | ||
movement. | movement. | ||
- | **Warning: If an evading unit or character is | + | :!: **Warning: If an evading unit or character is |
caught by the enemy, it has no right of reply in that | caught by the enemy, it has no right of reply in that | ||
turn's combat phase and simply loses any of its | turn's combat phase and simply loses any of its | ||
Line 182: | Line 181: | ||
contact with the enemy (though they may be | contact with the enemy (though they may be | ||
brought to combat by an enemy charge). A unit | brought to combat by an enemy charge). A unit | ||
- | moving at retire speed will halt 5 cms from any | + | moving at retire speed will halt 5 cm from any |
enemy unit, monster or character blocking its line of | enemy unit, monster or character blocking its line of | ||
movement, unless it is on the inside of a fortification | movement, unless it is on the inside of a fortification | ||
Line 193: | Line 192: | ||
{{ : | {{ : | ||
- | **Exception: | + | :!: **Exception: |
Retire as a result of a Morale Test on Automatic | Retire as a result of a Morale Test on Automatic | ||
Move, must move its full Retire allowance as | Move, must move its full Retire allowance as | ||
Line 207: | Line 206: | ||
break formation and attempt to escape from the | break formation and attempt to escape from the | ||
enemy as quickly as possible. They may pass through | enemy as quickly as possible. They may pass through | ||
- | any gaps between friendly units of 2 cms or more. | + | any gaps between friendly units of 2 cm or more. |
A routing unit must move its full Rout movement | A routing unit must move its full Rout movement | ||
allowance, as modified by terrain. The unit must | allowance, as modified by terrain. The unit must | ||
move directly away from the enemy threat that has | move directly away from the enemy threat that has | ||
caused it to Rout, and must avoid all other enemy | caused it to Rout, and must avoid all other enemy | ||
- | units by at least 5 cms. | + | units by at least 5 cm. |
A unit that routs will continue to make rout moves | A unit that routs will continue to make rout moves | ||
each turn, until it passes a Morale Test in phase | each turn, until it passes a Morale Test in phase | ||
- | eleven, by gaining a CO or UA result. Once a unit has | + | eleven, by gaining a **CO** or **UA** result. Once a unit has |
stopped routing, it must be marked with a | stopped routing, it must be marked with a | ||
- | Disordered counter. (See Disordered Units on | + | Disordered counter. ([[army-organisation# |
- | page 60). | + | page 60]]). |
- | **Warning: A routing unit that is caught by the | + | :!: **Warning: A routing unit that is caught by the |
enemy has no right of reply in combat and simply | enemy has no right of reply in combat and simply | ||
loses all those figures that end up in base-to-base | loses all those figures that end up in base-to-base | ||
contact with the enemy.** | contact with the enemy.** | ||
- | **Warning: If a unit that is routing moves off the | + | :!: **Warning: If a unit that is routing moves off the |
battlefield, | battlefield, | ||
considered to have fled the field of combat and plays | considered to have fled the field of combat and plays | ||
Line 248: | Line 248: | ||
end of that turn, the unit conducting the pursuit is | end of that turn, the unit conducting the pursuit is | ||
- | Disordered and must be marked as such. (See | + | Disordered and must be marked as such. ([[army-organisation# |
- | Disordered Units on page 60). | + | |
If a unit conducts a pursuit move that brings it into | If a unit conducts a pursuit move that brings it into | ||
contact with enemy troops, other than those routing | contact with enemy troops, other than those routing | ||
Line 257: | Line 256: | ||
' | ' | ||
- | **Warning: If a unit pursues a routing enemy off | + | :!: **Warning: If a unit pursues a routing enemy off |
the field of combat, both the routed unit and the | the field of combat, both the routed unit and the | ||
pursuers play no further part in that game.** | pursuers play no further part in that game.** | ||
Line 267: | Line 266: | ||
phase three and must roll for an Automatic Move in | phase three and must roll for an Automatic Move in | ||
phase seven. | phase seven. | ||
+ | |||
To do this roll one D100, cross reference the result | To do this roll one D100, cross reference the result | ||
with the Automatic Moves Table on the unit's Profile | with the Automatic Moves Table on the unit's Profile | ||
Line 289: | Line 289: | ||
Troops retiring as an automatic move will not | Troops retiring as an automatic move will not | ||
move through other friendly units. Instead they will | move through other friendly units. Instead they will | ||
- | halt 2 cms from the unit. Similarly, they will not | + | halt 2 cm from the unit. Similarly, they will not |
retire into base-to-base contact with enemy units, | retire into base-to-base contact with enemy units, | ||
- | but instead will halt 5 cms away from them. | + | but instead will halt 5 cm away from them. |
=== Advance to limit of normal movement === | === Advance to limit of normal movement === | ||
Line 302: | Line 302: | ||
Troops advancing as an automatic move will not | Troops advancing as an automatic move will not | ||
move through other friendly units. Instead they will | move through other friendly units. Instead they will | ||
- | halt 2 cms away from the unit. Similarly they will not | + | halt 2 cm away from the unit. Similarly they will not |
advance into base-to-base contact with enemy units, | advance into base-to-base contact with enemy units, | ||
- | but instead halt 5 cms from them. | + | but instead halt 5 cm from them. |
- | Important: Troops defending a line of | + | **Important**: Troops defending a line of |
fortifications ignore this result and treat it as if it | fortifications ignore this result and treat it as if it | ||
were an automatic command to remain stationary. | were an automatic command to remain stationary. | ||
Line 332: | Line 332: | ||
Generally it will be clear in which direction a unit | Generally it will be clear in which direction a unit | ||
moves. However, under some circumstances a unit | moves. However, under some circumstances a unit | ||
- | |||
or figure may have to move in a random direction. | or figure may have to move in a random direction. | ||
For instance, a unit may be surrounded on all sides | For instance, a unit may be surrounded on all sides | ||
Line 401: | Line 400: | ||
As they are raiders, the change will cost them 3/4 of | As they are raiders, the change will cost them 3/4 of | ||
their normal movement. As this allowance is 36 | their normal movement. As this allowance is 36 | ||
- | cms, the change of formation costs them 27 cms. In | + | cm, the change of formation costs them 27 cm. In |
phase six, Warthanger' | phase six, Warthanger' | ||
- | and are then able to advance only 9 cms. If the | + | and are then able to advance only 9 cm. If the |
goblins had been tribesmen instead of Raiders, the | goblins had been tribesmen instead of Raiders, the | ||
change of formation would have used up their entire | change of formation would have used up their entire | ||
Line 423: | Line 422: | ||
the charge Morale Test, it may then take a Reaction | the charge Morale Test, it may then take a Reaction | ||
Test and if it passes may immediately change | Test and if it passes may immediately change | ||
- | formation (but always subject to the limitations | + | formation ([[orders|but always subject to the limitations |
- | listed on page 67). | + | listed on page 67]]). |
**Example: A regiment of Caryllian spearmen is | **Example: A regiment of Caryllian spearmen is | ||
Line 513: | Line 512: | ||
==== FLIGHT HEIGHTS ==== | ==== FLIGHT HEIGHTS ==== | ||
+ | |||
+ | {{ : | ||
For the purposes of flight, the air space over a | For the purposes of flight, the air space over a | ||
Line 519: | Line 520: | ||
Combat Height is the lowest level and is | Combat Height is the lowest level and is | ||
- | considered to be three to forty feet (1.5-20 | + | considered to be three to forty feet (1.5-20 |
above the heads of ground troops. When a creature | above the heads of ground troops. When a creature | ||
takes off it does so from the ground to Combat | takes off it does so from the ground to Combat | ||
Line 617: | Line 618: | ||
half of which is lost diving, but that still leaves him | half of which is lost diving, but that still leaves him | ||
with 40 cm of movement to fly directly over the | with 40 cm of movement to fly directly over the | ||
- | hapless goblins).** | + | hapless goblins). |
+ | |||
+ | Gripnir passes his Morale Test in phase four and | ||
+ | flies 40 cms forward at Flight Height, so he can dive | ||
+ | directly down onto the goblins. Who have bravely or | ||
+ | rashly (depending on whether you are a goblin | ||
+ | about to be incinerated or not) passed the charge | ||
+ | Morale Test and stood their ground. In phase eight | ||
+ | Gripnir breathes fire over the goblins, who once | ||
+ | again, miraculously pass their Morale Test, and in | ||
+ | phase nine Gripnir swoops into combat.** | ||
+ | |||
+ | {{ : | ||
+ | |||
+ | **However, at Combat Height Gripnir is not as | ||
+ | effective as he would be on the ground. So on the | ||
+ | next turn he breaks away to circle his prey. On the | ||
+ | following turn, Gripnir decides to charge the | ||
+ | goblins again, but this time he plans to land in the | ||
+ | process to enhance his fighting abilities. Once | ||
+ | again, he passes his Morale Test, but this time the | ||
+ | goblins fail their test and rout. No doubt roundly | ||
+ | cursing Kernabog as they scatter, for allowing | ||
+ | Gripnir to pick on them.** | ||
+ | |||
+ | You will note in the above example that the ability | ||
+ | of a flying creature to break off aerial combat (not | ||
+ | ground combat), without having to first rout its | ||
+ | enemy, means it can charge the same unit more than | ||
+ | once, though never in concurrent turns. | ||
+ | |||
+ | ==== CRASHING ==== | ||
+ | |||
+ | Any flying creature that is killed while in flight will | ||
+ | crash to the ground and any troops who suffer the | ||
+ | misfortune of being in the area where the creature | ||
+ | crashes, run the risk of being killed (unless the | ||
+ | flying creature is a small animal like a bat or eagle). | ||
+ | If a flying creature is killed while in flight, it falls | ||
+ | vertically down and hits the ground immediately | ||
+ | beneath its last aerial position. Lift up the creature as | ||
+ | depicted in the illustration and hold it upside down | ||
+ | over the ground. | ||
+ | |||
+ | If there are any ground troops whose bases are | ||
+ | partially or totally covered by the figure of the stricken flyer, they must roll to see if they are hit. For | ||
+ | each infantry or cavalry figure roll one D100. On a | ||
+ | score of 50% or less the figure survives. On a score of | ||
+ | 51% or greater the figure is killed. | ||
+ | |||
+ | If the flying creature falls onto a character, then | ||
+ | the character must roll as above to see if he is hit or | ||
+ | not. If he is hit, he receives two wounds and must | ||
+ | refer these to the Character Hit Table to discover | ||
+ | what form they take. | ||
+ | |||
+ | {{ : | ||
+ | |||
+ | If the flying creature falls onto a monster then one | ||
+ | D100 must be rolled to see if the monster is hit. On a | ||
+ | score of 30% or less the monster escapes injury, | ||
+ | while a score of 31% or greater means it is hit. If a | ||
+ | monster is hit it must roll one D4 to discover how | ||
+ | many wounds it receives and then refer these to the | ||
+ | relevant Monster Hit Table. | ||
+ | |||
+ | If the flying creature falls on a building that | ||
+ | structure automatically receives damage according | ||
+ | to the following chart: | ||
+ | |||
+ | ^ Structure | ||
+ | | Dry stone wall | 2D4 | | ||
+ | | Hedge | 3D4 | | ||
+ | | Fence | 4D4 | | ||
+ | | Stone/Brick Building | ||
+ | | Wood/Wattle Building | ||
+ | | Wagon, cart, chariot | ||
+ | |||
+ | To find the defence values of buildings see | ||
+ | [[battlefield-terrain|Chapter 7: Battlefield Terrain]]. | ||
+ | Players should note that if a flying creature falls on | ||
+ | a building containing troops but does not destroy | ||
+ | that building' | ||
+ | inside the building are all considered to be safe and | ||
+ | do not have to be rolled for. However, if the building' | ||
+ | roof collapses, then all of the figures inside the | ||
+ | building must roll in the usual way to see if they | ||
+ | become casualties! | ||
+ | |||
+ | ==== WOUNDED FLYING BEASTS ==== | ||
+ | |||
+ | Flying beasts that lose the ability to fly through | ||
+ | injury at Flight Height immediately flutter to the | ||
+ | ground and land. They do this in phase one of the | ||
+ | next turn and may land on the ground anywhere | ||
+ | within 20 cm of their flight position measuring | ||
+ | from any one of their base edges. | ||
+ | |||
+ | Flying beasts that lose the ability to fly through | ||
+ | injury at Combat Height automatically crash. They | ||
+ | cause damage as per the rules for crashing and in | ||
+ | addition also injure themselves. An injured flying | ||
+ | creature that crashes will sustain one wound and | ||
+ | must roll on its hit table to discover how severe the | ||
+ | wound is. | ||
+ | |||
+ | === Riders of Flying Beasts === | ||
+ | |||
+ | When a flying beast is on the ground its rider, if | ||
+ | any, may dismount or mount in the same way a | ||
+ | soldier can dismount or mount a horse or other | ||
+ | riding beast. | ||
+ | |||
+ | If a rider' | ||
+ | rider will immediately fall off the beast and crash to | ||
+ | the ground. The same will happen if the rider' | ||
+ | is wounded at Combat Height in such a way that it | ||
+ | can no longer fly and crashes to the ground. Under | ||
+ | these circumstances, | ||
+ | and will have the following chances of sustaining an | ||
+ | injury: | ||
+ | |||
+ | ^ Height | ||
+ | | Falling from Flight Height | ||
+ | | Falling from Combat Height | ||
+ | |||
+ | Ordinary soldiers who sustain an injury are killed instantly. Characters receive one wound, which they must refer to the Character Hit Table. | ||
+ | |||
+ | ---- | ||
+ | |||
+ | [[battlefield-terrain|CHAPTER 7. BATTLEFIELD TERRAIN]] | ||
movement.1758263957.txt.gz · Last modified: 2025/09/19 08:39 by fantasyadmin